West Bengal Bypoll Results: TMC Wins Both Noapara And Uluberia


In Ajmer Lok Sabha constituency, Raghu Sharma of Congress leads, says State Election Commission.

84,414 votes, the state election office said.

In Mandalgarh, the Congress established a narrow lead of 3282 votes, party leader Vivek Dhakar securing 55,782 votes. Even as the results came in, Congress president Rahul Gandhi tweeted, “Well Done Rajasthan Congress! Or else would the Congress not have raised its stakes in the contest, fielding regular high profile claimants to the Lok Sabha seats”, said a party functionary. The state unit and many locals seem to prefer Ashok Gehlot, a former chief minister, but the party leadership is inclined towards the younger Sachin Pilot. Proud of each and every one of you.

People in 17 Vidhan Sabha segments out of Rajasthan’s 200 constituencies voted in these by-elections.

Counting of votes in favor of West Bengal’s Uluberia Lok Sabha body electorate and the Noapara Assembly is also in progress. TMC candidate Sajda Ahmed defeated Congress’s Anupam Mallick by 4,74,023 votes in Uluberia and Noapara candidate Sunil Singh gained victory by a margin of 63,000 votes. BJP’s Jaswant Singh Yadav gets 1,33,289 votes.

The bypolls in Ajmer were necessitated by the death of sitting BJP MP Sanwarlal Jat in August 2017. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidate was pushed to the third spot and polled 1,38,792 votes. In Ajmer, the margin for the victorious Congress candidate was around 84,000 votes with a few still to be counted. TMC candidate Sunil Singh won by a margin of 63,018 as he polled almost 54% of all the votes cast.

CPI-M candidate Gargi Chatterjee was at number three spot with 35,497 votes. Whereas assembly seat of Mandalgarh fell vacant after MLA Kirti Kumari died after suffering from swine flu in 2017.

Yashwant Deshmukh, the founder of the polling agency, C-Voter, has predicted that the Congress would win 140 seats in the upcoming polls, leaving the BJP with a mere 53.